10 Questions With Kelly Blevins

Image

What does art mean to you?

“I believe art is one of the main substances of life, and a unique attribute to human nature. It’s how we connect or disconnect with each other with it’s infinite roads of possibilities.”

What is your background, what is your story?

I was born in Tucson, AZ, 1984, mostly grew up on the Eastern cost of the U.S. I have been living in Pittsburgh, PA for about 10 years and this is where I’ve grown and developed into a full-time artist. Now I work in my studio day to day studying the disciplinary arts of creation.”

What inspired your works?

Many things have inspired and do inspire my work. Inspiration is this independent being of it’s own, and most of the time it comes when I’m sleeping or about to sleep. It’s a fragile thing,almost secret. So, if I’d have to say what inspires me the most it would be the pure mystery of living as an artist. I’m always looking for new things to learn and see to keep a fresh perspective. Also, my morning coffee is also inspirational.”

How do you feel when you are creating? How do you feel when you have finished a piece?

I am usually manic when I’m working on a new piece. Not just on an emotional basis, but intellectually as well. Almost as if every drawing is a therapy session and when I’m finished I’ve learned so much about myself and others. Each drawing is an internal revelation for me.”

What are you trying to communicate with your art?

With my drawings I’m generally creating a presence more than a statement to communicate with. They mostly have a direct contact with the viewer and if the they establish a communication, it’s on their terms. My work is there for people to step into or out of.”

What medium do you gravitate towards and why?

My medium of choice is charcoal. I love the unruly behavior and it’s near impossible erasing inability. I take the challenges it gives as an opportunity to create unique works of art. The direct nature of charcoal is something I relate to and find comfort in.”

How do you feel when people misinterpret your work?

People have yet to really misinterpret my work. I find others thoughts and interpretations to be interesting because it is a reflection of who they are. I feel it’s a good thing to allow an audience to develop their own visions, they’re going to do that anyway. So, it’s nice for me to go back and forth with ideas as the artist with the viewer.”

What advice do you have for other artists?

My advice to aspiring artists is to never stop what you’re doing. Sometimes it might feel pointless, but there isn’t always a point. It’s mostly about just creating and making a bunch of points.”

If today was your last day, what do you want people to know about you and your works?

If today was my last day, I would be really sad! I’d like for people to know that I really love coffee and chocolate. And as far as my work, I’d still leave that up to them. Mysteries are what make life interesting.”

Leave a Reply

